Compensation, decoded

How US egg donor pay works: flat rates, ranges, ceilings and what's reimbursed

Programs state egg donor pay in four different ways. This guide explains how to read each one, quotes figures from named clinics and agencies, and flags what each page leaves out.

Verified October 202617 min readHow we verify

There is no single US egg donor rate. Each program states pay its own way: a flat amount per completed cycle, a published range, a "starts at" floor, or an "up to" ceiling. Travel and other expenses usually sit outside that figure, though some programs fold them into it. The figures below come from program pages checked in October 2026. We don't average them. When a page leaves a field out, we mark it unpublished instead of guessing. This guide isn't medical, tax or legal advice.

The four ways programs state pay

According to the ASRM Ethics Committee, compensation should "acknowledge the donor's time, inconvenience, and discomfort" and "should not vary according to the planned use of the oocytes (reproductive or research) or the number or quality of oocytes retrieved." ASRM doesn't set dollar amounts. In the 2016 settlement of Kamakahi v. ASRM, it agreed to stop recommending or listing dollar amounts or ranges for donor pay. Each program now sets and describes its own pay, using one of four formats:

  • Flat per cycle: one stated amount for each completed cycle. IVF Minnesota's $6,700 is an example.
  • Range: a low and a high figure, with your amount set by factors the program names, such as location or donation history. Pacific Fertility Center's $10,000 to $20,000 is an example.
  • Floor ("starts at"): a minimum with no published top. ConceiveAbilities says "$10,000 is our starting egg donor pay."
  • Ceiling ("up to"): a maximum, given either per cycle or as a lifetime total across several cycles. Aspire Fertility Houston says donors can earn "up to $68,000 in total" over six donations.

Flat per-cycle amounts

Flat amounts are the easiest to compare because the page commits to one number. You still need to check what that number covers and when it's paid.

ProgramFirst cycleRepeatSource
Weill Cornell Medicine Egg Donor Program (NY)$15,000 per completed cycle (stated to include travel expenses and lost wages) Unpublishedeggdonor.weillcornell.org
Growing Generations (agency)$10,000$12,000 or more growinggenerations.com
Northeast Assisted Fertility Group (NY)$15,000$18,000assistedfertility.com
Shady Grove Fertility$7,000 total, paid in phases $7,500 (2nd); $8,000 each additional shadygrovefertility.com
The Reproductive Medicine Group (Tampa)$10,000$12,000 (2nd–3rd); $14,000 (4th–5th); $15,000 (6th) floridafertility.com
IVF Minnesota$6,700$6,700 (same rate every cycle) ivfminnesota.com
Wisconsin Fertility Institute$5,000$5,000 per cycle; six-cycle maximum, $30,000 total wisconsinfertility.com
Idaho Center for Reproductive Medicine$5,000 (staff reply, Sept 30, 2026; not site-published)$8,000 (staff reply, Sept 30, 2026; not site-published)Staff reply to DonorIndex
First-cycle and repeat pay as each program states it, checked October 2026. Figures are not averaged. "Unpublished" means the page gives no figure.

Shady Grove pays its $7,000 in stages: "an initial stipend of $75" after initial screening if accepted, "a stipend of $425" for applicants accepted after Donor Day, and "the final stipend of $6,500" when the cycle is complete. Applicants who aren't accepted after Donor Day get $175. A search snippet of the same page gave first-time pay as "$6,500 to $7,500," so the page has changed over time. Check the current figure with the program.

Ranges, floors and "up to" ceilings

Ranges. Pacific Fertility Center says pay "ranges from $10,000 to $20,000 per cycle" and depends on "donor's location, prior donations, ethnicity, and other factors." Bay Area donors start at $15,000. CCRM Fertility gives "$7,000 to $9,500." MyEggBank gives "$10,000 to $20,000 per cycle, depending on your location and total number of cycles," and says your clinic representative will explain that clinic's own pay program once you're accepted. With a range, the program decides where you fall.

Floors. ConceiveAbilities, Aspire Fertility Houston and Signature Donors all publish $10,000 as their starting pay. A floor gives you the minimum, not the amount most donors actually receive.

Lifetime ceilings. IVF Minnesota says donors can earn up to $40,200, Aspire up to $68,000 and RMG up to $77,000. MyEggBank says "as much as $90,000." Pacific Fertility Center says "cumulative earning potential can be up to $111,000." Growing Generations says a repeat donor "could have the chance to earn up to $150,000+ across multiple cycles by being a highly desired match." The higher figures depend on intended parents wanting you specifically. They are possible outcomes, not promises.

Repeat-cycle pay

Repeat pay follows one of four models. Step schedules raise pay at set points: RMG pays $10,000, then $12,000, $14,000 and $15,000, and Shady Grove pays $7,000, then $7,500, then $8,000. A single repeat tier sets one higher rate for any repeat cycle: $18,000 at Northeast Assisted Fertility Group and "$12,000 or more" at Growing Generations. Fixed increments add the same amount each time: CCRM offers "a $500 increase for repeat donors," and Signature Donors adds $500 "with each subsequent successful donation." No increase: IVF Minnesota pays $6,700 for every cycle.

If you've donated somewhere else, Shady Grove asks for your earlier records and says it will "compensate you based on the number of your previous donations." Most programs cap donors at six cycles, in line with ASRM's view that "it may be prudent to limit the number of stimulated cycles for an individual donor to no more than six." Every lifetime ceiling above is built on that cap.

Expense reimbursement: what's covered separately

Growing Generations has the most detailed list of the pages reviewed. It covers the costs of medical and psychological screening. It says "You will be provided with an independent attorney" and "an egg donation cycle insurance policy" that covers complications. For travel, it provides one coach ticket for screening, plus two at retrieval for you and a companion. It also pays a per-mile rate if you drive, reasonable ground transportation, a meal per diem while traveling, "reasonable and actual parking expenses," and hotel stays when you must stay overnight.

ConceiveAbilities books and pays for airfare, and repays hotel, taxi or rideshare, parking and baggage fees through an escrow service. It adds "a meal allowance of $75 a day for yourself or $125 a day for you and a companion." Pacific Fertility Center pays "per diem expense reimbursements for travel expenses, hotel and lodging (for those traveling from outside of the area)." Northeast Assisted Fertility Group says "All your medical, insurance, and travel (if required) costs are paid for in advance." Egg Bank America lists "a $100 per diem for travel days."

Lost wages are the least consistent item. SIMPLIFY's blog says intended parents reimburse "lost income due to required appointments." Weill Cornell counts lost wages as part of its $15,000 instead of paying them separately. ASRM says programs should "individually adopt and disclose policies regarding coverage of an oocyte-donor's medical costs should she experience complications," so ask to see that policy in writing.

What is not part of the stipend

  • Reimbursements. Signature Donors keeps the two apart: compensation is for your time and commitment, while "Reimbursements cover her actual out-of-pocket expenses such as travel, lodging, and meals during the donation process."
  • Free screening and testing. Weill Cornell says "All screening and testing is performed free of charge." Aspire provides a genetic testing panel "at no cost to you." These are benefits, not cash.
  • Referral rewards. Shady Grove pays $100 when someone you refer is approved and added to its program. Signature Donors pays a $500 referral bonus. Neither counts as donor compensation.
  • Non-cash perks. Pacific Fertility Center gives an egg-freezing ("egg saving") benefit with a donor's third egg bank donation.
  • Costs that may fall on you. ConceiveAbilities says that if the clinic requires your IUD removed, "it will be at your own expense."
  • Taxes. Weill Cornell says compensation "is taxable income that is reported to the IRS." Shady Grove issues a 1099. In Perez v. Commissioner, 144 T.C. 51 (2015), the Tax Court held that the $20,000 Nichelle Perez received from The Donor Source for two cycles was taxable pay for services, not tax-free damages.

Cancelled cycles and payment timing

The New York State Department of Health tells donors: "If a cycle must be canceled before eggs are retrieved, some (but not all) programs provide partial compensation (often based on the number of days of treatment completed). After egg retrieval, you should receive the full, agreed upon amount no matter the number or quality of the eggs."

Wisconsin Fertility Institute publishes a prorated schedule: 5% up to the start of injections, 10% after ovulation induction, 55% after retrieval and 100% after the post-retrieval follow-up. Growing Generations pays $750 when injectable medications start and the rest after retrieval, "regardless of the number of eggs retrieved." SIMPLIFY pays $500 if a cycle is cancelled for a medical reason, and nothing if the donor didn't follow cycle requirements. Programs also pay at different times. NAFG pays in one lump sum right after retrieval. IVF Minnesota pays on retrieval day. CHR pays after the post-cycle checkup.

How to compare two offers

  1. 1

    Identify the format

    Is the number flat, a range, a floor or a lifetime ceiling? Compare first-cycle figures with each other, never with lifetime totals.

  2. 2

    Get your first-cycle number in writing

    With a range or a floor, ask for the exact amount for you and what decides it.

  3. 3

    Ask for the repeat schedule

    Ask whether repeat pay is a step schedule, a single tier, a fixed increment or flat. If it isn't written down, treat it as unknown.

  4. 4

    Get the expense list

    Ask which items are paid on top of the stipend and which come out of it: airfare, lodging, meals, mileage, parking, companion travel, lost wages, legal fees, cycle insurance.

  5. 5

    Ask about cancellation and complications

    Find out what you're paid at each stage if the cycle stops, and who pays medical costs if complications occur.

  6. 6

    Plan for tax

    Treat the stipend as taxable income and keep your records. Ask a tax professional how it applies to you.

What is the average egg donor pay in the US?

DonorIndex doesn't publish one. ASRM notes that SART "does not ask clinics to report on their donor-compensation practices and policies," so no official national figure exists. Averaging a few program pages would mix flat rates, ranges and ceilings into a number that means nothing.

Is egg donor pay like sperm donor pay?

No. Sperm banks pay per donation: Fairfax Cryobank says donors are paid "between $100-$120+ per donation visit," and Cryos International pays "a standard amount of $35 per donation." Egg programs pay per completed stimulation-and-retrieval cycle, sometimes in stages. The two models can't be compared directly.

Do I get paid more if more eggs are retrieved?

At most programs reviewed here, no. Growing Generations pays the balance "regardless of the number of eggs retrieved," and ASRM says pay shouldn't vary by egg number or quality. CHR is the exception: its page describes pay based on egg count.

Are travel costs taken out of my compensation?

At most programs reviewed here, travel is reimbursed or prepaid on top of the stipend. Weill Cornell is the exception: its $15,000 is stated to cover travel expenses and lost wages.

Do I pay tax on egg donor compensation?

Programs such as Weill Cornell and Shady Grove report it as taxable income, and in Perez v. Commissioner (2015), which Bloomberg reported was the court's first ruling on taxation of egg donations, the Tax Court treated it as taxable pay. This isn't tax advice, so check with a tax professional.

Why does DonorIndex show ICRM figures that aren't on its website?

ICRM staff gave DonorIndex the $5,000 and $8,000 figures in a September 30, 2026 reply. We label them as a staff reply so they're never confused with pay a program publishes on its own site.

Sources · checked Oct 2026

  1. ASRM Ethics Committee, Financial compensation of oocyte donors (2021) — ASRM: compensation should acknowledge time, inconvenience and discomfort and "should not vary according to the planned use of the oocytes (reproductive or research) or the number or quality of oocytes retrieved"; programs should "individually adopt and disclose policies regarding coverage of an oocyte-donor's medical costs should she experience complications"; SART "does not ask clinics to report on their donor-compensation practices and policies."High confidence
  2. ASRM Practice Committee, Repetitive oocyte donation (2020) — ASRM: "it may be prudent to limit the number of stimulated cycles for an individual donor to no more than six."High confidence
  3. Houston Journal of Health Law & Policy, Sanders (2022) — Kamakahi settlement: "ASRM also agreed, moving forward, to refrain from recommending or listing any dollar amounts or ranges regarding egg donor compensation."High confidence (secondary legal scholarship)
  4. Weill Cornell Medicine Egg Donor Program, Compensation — Weill Cornell: "Egg donors are compensated $15,000 for their time, effort, travel expenses, and lost wages, for each completed donation cycle. Compensation for donating your eggs is taxable income that is reported to the IRS." "All screening and testing is performed free of charge." No repeat rate published.High confidence
  5. Growing Generations, Egg Donor Pay & Compensation — Growing Generations: $10,000 first-time; "$12,000 or more" repeat; "up to $150,000+ across multiple cycles by being a highly desired match"; "The first payment made to an egg donor is $750 and is paid upon the start of injectable medications. The balance… is paid after the completion of the egg retrieval procedure regardless of the number of eggs retrieved"; independent attorney, cycle insurance, airfare, ground travel, meals per diem, parking, lodging, companion; California disclaimer.High confidence
  6. Northeast Assisted Fertility Group, Become an Egg Donor in New York — NAFG: "$15,000 for first-time egg donors and $18,000 for repeat egg donors"; "payable immediately after the retrieval… paid in one lump sum"; "All your medical, insurance, and travel (if required) costs are paid for in advance."High confidence
  7. Shady Grove Fertility, Become an egg donor — Shady Grove: "The total compensation for a completed cycle is traditionally $7,000 for first-time donors, paid out in phases"; "initial stipend of $75"; "stipend of $425… and $175 for applicants who are not accepted"; "final stipend of $6,500"; "Repeat donors will receive $7,500 upon completion of the second donation cycle and $8,000 for each additional cycle"; 1099; $100 referral; prior-donor pay "based on the number of your previous donations." A search snippet showed "$6,500 to $7,500" for first-time donors.Medium confidence (page versions differ)
  8. The Reproductive Medicine Group, Egg Donor Compensation — RMG Tampa: "First cycle: $10,000"; "Second & third cycle: $12,000 each"; "Fourth & fifth cycle: $14,000 each"; "Sixth cycle: $15,000"; "earning up to $77,000 total."Medium-high confidence (quoted from search-indexed page text)
  9. IVF Minnesota, Become an Egg Donor — IVF Minnesota: "You'll receive $6,700 for each completed donation cycle, and eligible donors may donate up to six times – an opportunity to earn up to $40,200"; "You will receive the payment on the day of the retrieval."High confidence
  10. Wisconsin Fertility Institute, Donor Compensation — Wisconsin Fertility Institute: "eligible to receive $5000 per cycle… a maximum of six donation cycles… total maximum compensation of $30,000"; prorated cancellation schedule 5% / 10% / 55% / 100%.Medium-high confidence (percentages from indexed page text)
  11. Idaho Center for Reproductive Medicine, staff reply to DonorIndex, September 30, 2026 — ICRM $5,000 first cycle and $8,000 repeat cycle.Staff reply, not site-published; the linked page publishes no dollar figure
  12. Idaho Center for Reproductive Medicine, Donating Eggs in Idaho (2023 blog) — ICRM blog: "The compensation for donating eggs in Idaho can range from $5,000 to $15,000"; "The precise amounts vary from one Idaho fertility center to the next and from one egg donor to another." Statewide range, not ICRM's rate.High confidence
  13. PFC Egg Donor Agency, Egg Donor Compensation — Pacific Fertility Center: "ranges from $10,000 to $20,000 per cycle… determined by donor's location, prior donations, ethnicity, and other factors"; Bay Area starts at $15,000; "cumulative earning potential can be up to $111,000"; per diem travel, hotel and lodging; egg saving benefit on 3rd donation.High confidence
  14. CCRM Fertility, Compensation — CCRM: "Compensation for your egg donation ranges from $7,000 to $9,500"; "We also offer a $500 increase for repeat donors."Medium-high confidence (quoted from indexed page text)
  15. MyEggBank, Egg Donor Compensation & Pay — MyEggBank: "$10,000 to $20,000 per cycle, depending on your location and total number of cycles"; "Donors who are approved for 6 cycles can earn as much as $90,000."High confidence
  16. ConceiveAbilities, Egg Donor Pay & Compensation — ConceiveAbilities: "$10,000 is our starting egg donor pay"; meal allowance "$75 a day for yourself or $125 a day for you and a companion"; airfare booked, hotel/rideshare/parking/baggage reimbursed via escrow; IUD removal "will be at your own expense."High confidence
  17. Aspire Fertility Houston, Egg Donor Compensation — Aspire Fertility Houston: "donation cycles start at $10,000"; "egg donors can donate up to six times, earning up to $68,000 in total"; genetic panel "at no cost to you."High confidence
  18. Signature Donors, Egg Donor Compensation — Signature Donors: starting compensation $10,000, "increases by $500 with each subsequent successful donation"; "Reimbursements cover her actual out-of-pocket expenses such as travel, lodging, and meals"; $500 referral bonus.High confidence
  19. Center for Human Reproduction, Egg Donor Compensation at CHR (2020 blog) — CHR: "The egg donor compensation at CHR is up to $10,000"; "Egg donors are reimbursed based on the number of eggs they produce, with a potential bonus"; "guaranteed $10,000 for a donation cycle"; paid "after they complete the post-cycle checkup."Medium confidence (internally inconsistent, dated 2020)
  20. Egg Bank America, Egg Donor Compensation — Egg Bank America: "$5,000 for each completed donation cycle" plus medical care, donor insurance, airfare, hotel, ground transportation "and a $100 per diem for travel days."Medium-high confidence
  21. SIMPLIFY, How Much Are Egg Donors Paid? — SIMPLIFY: intended parents reimburse "lost income due to required appointments"; "If a cycle must be canceled before the retrieval for a medical reason, our donors receive $500."High confidence
  22. New York State Department of Health, Becoming an Egg Donor — NY DOH: "some (but not all) programs provide partial compensation (often based on the number of days of treatment completed). After egg retrieval, you should receive the full, agreed upon amount no matter the number or quality of the eggs."High confidence
  23. California Health and Safety Code § 125325 — California disclaimer: "Not all potential egg donors are selected. Not all selected egg donors receive the monetary amounts or compensation advertised."High confidence
  24. The Tax Adviser, Payments to Egg Donor Not Excludable From Income — Perez v. Commissioner, 144 T.C. 51 (2015): egg donor payments are taxable compensation for services, not excludable damages. Nichelle Perez received $20,000 from The Donor Source for two 2009 cycles; Judge Mark V. Holmes: "what matters is that she voluntarily signed a contract to be paid to endure them." Bloomberg (Jan. 22, 2015): "The court said it was the first ruling on taxation of egg donations."High confidence on holding; Holmes and Bloomberg quotes from search snippets of the opinion and press coverage
  25. Fairfax Cryobank, sperm donor compensation; Cryos International — Sperm donor per-donation pay, shown only to contrast with the egg model: Fairfax Cryobank, "On average, sperm donors are paid between $100-$120+ per donation visit"; Cryos International, "a standard amount of $35 per donation."Medium confidence (enrichment-sourced; not used as an egg pay model)
  26. Not stated by DonorIndex — REFUSED: a US national average or median egg donor pay. No official dataset exists (SART does not collect donor-compensation data), and averaging flat rates, ranges and ceilings would be misleading.Refused claim
  27. Not stated by DonorIndex — REFUSED: any ICRM figure presented as site-published. ICRM's $5,000/$8,000 come only from a September 30, 2026 staff reply; its 2023 blog's $5,000–$15,000 is a statewide range, not ICRM's rate.Refused claim
  28. Not stated by DonorIndex — REFUSED: repeat-cycle rates for Weill Cornell, ConceiveAbilities and Aspire Fertility Houston, and cancelled-cycle pay for Weill Cornell, NAFG, IVF Minnesota, Aspire and ConceiveAbilities. Not published; left as unpublished.Refused claim
  29. Not stated by DonorIndex — REFUSED: third-party aggregator "typical" ranges (e.g., GoodRx, blog rankings) and per-agency figures from comparison sites that are not on the program's own page.Refused claim
  30. Not stated by DonorIndex — REFUSED: treating sperm-bank per-visit pay as a model for egg donor pay, and treating any one program's rule (e.g., CHR's egg-count pay, Weill Cornell's bundled travel) as an industry rule.Refused claim

Every figure here is the published egg profile.

Donor-page amounts, a staff response, and an email the donor page does not print stay labeled. A missing first-cycle figure stays Not published. Read the methodology, or compare egg programs.