Known-donor agencies / The Seed Scout
Verified Sep 2026Known donor model

The Seed Scout donor pay and requirements

A field-by-field review of compensation, eligibility, time commitment, locations, and program terms from the complete DonorIndex dataset.

How you’re paid

The Seed Scout pays a per-family fee directly from the client (Venmo, PayPal, or check), at donation and after all steps — not a recurring bank wage.

Locations and program

open
Nationwide — clinic near donor
name
The Seed Scout
hq
Maryland area
website
theseedscout.com
type
Known-donor matching service (NOT a traditional bank)
fda registered
N/A
identity policy
Known donor (meet recipient, approve match, annual updates)
family limit
3 families max
parental rights
Independent attorney paid by client; legal contract
msm policy
EXPLICITLY WELCOMES queer/MSM donors (only entity in dataset)

Commitment

program length
2-4 months per client
frequency
3-4 donations total per client
total time
8-10 hours per client
abstinence
Not publicly disclosed
screening duration
~2–4 months per family from selection through donations; ~8–10 hours of donor time (FDA steps: semen analysis, carrier screening, legal agreement, 3 psych consults)
unpaid test
Not publicly disclosed

Requirements

age
24+ (highest minimum)
height
No minimum (explicitly no DQ)
education
No requirement (explicitly no DQ)
bmi
Not publicly disclosed
smoking
Not publicly disclosed
citizenship
Not publicly disclosed
sexual partners
No DQ for sexual orientation (explicit — most inclusive)
acceptance rate
Highly selective matching (no numeric rate)

Acceptance rates are bank-claimed and typically count every web-form inquiry as an “applicant.” Treat them as marketing, not your real odds — the true denominator is never published.

Compensation

model
Per-family (not recurring)
per family
$5,000 minimum
max total
$15,000 (3 families)
payment method
Direct from client (Venmo, PayPal, check)
effective hourly
~$500-$625/hour
referral bonus
Not publicly disclosed
exit bonus
N/A
exclusivity
Donor earns MORE for exclusivity: $5,000 per family standard (up to 3 families) vs $13,000 for an exclusive single-family match; a 'Two-Family Buy Out' lets a family be the donor's final match. (Intended parents also pay ~$7,000 variable costs.)

What we don’t know yet

These details were not publicly available when this profile was verified.

  • bmi
  • smoking
  • citizenship
  • referral bonus
  • exit bonus
  • abstinence
  • unpaid test
  • acceptance rate numeric

Frequently asked about The Seed Scout

How much does The Seed Scout pay donors?

The Seed Scout pays a minimum of $5,000 per family, up to $15,000 across three families, paid directly by the client — a per-family fee, not a recurring bank wage.

What are the requirements to donate sperm at The Seed Scout?

The Seed Scout looks for donors aged 24+, with no height minimum, none education, good health, and the ability to visit a collection site regularly. See the requirements section above for the full list.

Where can I donate sperm at The Seed Scout?

The Seed Scout has collection sites in Nationwide. Donation is in person, usually 1–3 times a week, so proximity to a site is the real constraint.

Related guides

Ready to apply to The Seed Scout?

Start on the official site, or compare it against the rest first.