Cryobio donor pay and requirements
A field-by-field review of compensation, eligibility, time commitment, locations, and program terms from the complete DonorIndex dataset.
What the headline number means
No same-day cash; payment begins after acceptance
Locations and program
- open
- Columbus OH (near Ohio State), Pittsburgh PA (Oakland area)
- note
- Wilmington NC is lab only, NOT donor collection
- name
- Cryobio
- hq
- Columbus, OH
- website
- cryobio.com
- donor site
- becomingadonor.com
- type
- Commercial
- network
- Pittsburgh Cryobank (MERGED), Wilmington Reproductive Labs (lab only), Canada Cryobank
- fda registered
- Yes
- identity policy
- ID Release / ID Release Plus (Plus releases name, DOB, address, email, phone at 18)
- family limit
- 25 family units + geographic restriction after 10 pregnancies in one location
- parental rights
- Yes (standard anonymous donor contract)
- msm policy
- LGBTQ+ branding is recipient-facing; as FDA-registered bank, anonymous MSM NOT accepted
- lgbtq note
- "The LGBTQ+ community has always been a part of our family" — refers to recipients, not donor eligibility
Commitment
- program length
- 9 months min (FAQ also says 6-9 months once accepted)
- frequency
- 1-2x/week (about page: 2-3x/week for ≥9 months)
- hours per week
- Donate 1–2 times/week once accepted, for ~6–9 months
- abstinence
- At least 2 days but not more than 5 days without ejaculation before each donation
- screening duration
- 2 initial appointments (semen + health history), then 3-gen history, physical, genetic/infectious testing, genetic counselor phone interview
- unpaid test
- Yes — all screening samples and time are uncompensated
Requirements
- age
- 18-39
- height
- UNPUBLISHED (active donors as short as 5'8" in catalog)
- education
- Must have or be currently pursuing a college degree
- bmi
- Not publicly disclosed
- smoking
- Not publicly disclosed
- citizenship
- Not publicly disclosed
- sexual partners
- FDA-compliant; anonymous MSM excluded despite LGBTQ+ branding
- acceptance rate
- <1%
Acceptance rates are bank-claimed and typically count every web-form inquiry as an “applicant.” Treat them as marketing, not your real odds — the true denominator is never published.
Compensation
- monthly gross
- ~$600-$800 estimated ($75-$100/visit × 2x/week)
- per donation
- $75-$100 [WayUp job listing]
- cash at visit
- No same-day cash; payment begins after acceptance
- six month
- ~$3,600-$4,800 estimated
- annual
- ~$7,200-$9,600 estimated
- referral bonus
- None
- exit bonus
- None
- exclusivity
- None published
What we don’t know yet
These details were not publicly available when this profile was verified.
- height numeric
- bmi
- smoking
- citizenship
Frequently asked about Cryobio
How much do sperm donors make at Cryobio?
Cryobio advertises up to $600–800 per month, at $75–100 per approved donation. It pays by check rather than same-day cash, and banks typically hold part of each payment until samples clear a 6-month FDA quarantine.
What are the requirements to donate sperm at Cryobio?
Cryobio looks for donors aged 18–39, with no height minimum, college education, good health, and the ability to visit a collection site regularly. See the requirements section above for the full list.
Where can I donate sperm at Cryobio?
Cryobio has collection sites in Columbus, OH, Pittsburgh, PA. Donation is in person, usually 1–3 times a week, so proximity to a site is the real constraint.
Related guides
Ready to apply to Cryobio?
Start on the official site, or compare it against the rest first.