California Cryobank donor pay and requirements
A field-by-field review of compensation, eligibility, time commitment, locations, and program terms from the complete DonorIndex dataset.
What the headline number means
By check every other week; per-visit amount not published
Locations and program
- open
- Los Angeles CA, Los Altos CA, Portland OR, Spokane WA, Cambridge MA, New York NY, Greensboro NC, Durham NC
- closed
- Fountain Valley CA, Jacksonville FL, Costa Mesa CA
- name
- California Cryobank
- hq
- Los Angeles, CA
- parent company
- CooperSurgical (also owns Donor Egg Bank USA)
- recipient site
- cryobank.com
- donor site
- spermbank.com
- founded
- 1977
- type
- Commercial (largest in US)
- subsidiaries
- Cryobank OC
- fda registered
- Yes
- identity policy
- Open/ID Disclosure only (no anonymous since 2018)
- family limit
- 25-30 families worldwide
- parental rights
- Legal waiver signed
- msm policy
- FDA-compliant (21 CFR 1271); anonymous MSM excluded
Commitment
- program length
- 9-12 months
- frequency
- 2-3x/week encouraged, 1x/week min
- hours per week
- ~3-4.5 hours
- abstinence
- 48-72 hours [industry standard]
- screening duration
- 2-3 months; "within a few weeks of first in-person appointment"
- unpaid test
- First specimen unpaid
- screening to first pay
- ~6-10 weeks
Requirements
- age
- 19-38
- height
- 5'5" on form; 5'10" for white donors, lower for others [secondary]
- education
- 4-year college enrolled/grad; 2-year or professional experience considered
- bmi
- Normal range
- smoking
- Not auto-DQ; must refrain while active
- citizenship
- Legally authorized to work in US
- sexual partners
- Form asks gender last 5 years — not stated as DQ
- other screens
- Criminal + education background check, incarceration past 2 yrs, 3-gen family history
- acceptance rate
- ~1%
Acceptance rates are bank-claimed and typically count every web-form inquiry as an “applicant.” Treat them as marketing, not your real odds — the true denominator is never published.
Compensation
- monthly gross
- $2,400 (3x/week max)
- per donation
- $100-$300 (avg ~$200) [secondary]
- cash at visit
- By check every other week; per-visit amount not published
- deferred
- Not publicly disclosed
- six month
- ~$14,400
- annual
- ~$28,800
- referral bonus
- None
- exit bonus
- "Special compensation" at retirement (amount UNPUBLISHED)
- exclusivity
- Recipient-side Donor Reserve Program (Gold/Exclusive = all vials reserved to one family; Silver = shared with up to 9 families). No published donor-side bonus for being a reserve/exclusive donor.
What we don’t know yet
These details were not publicly available when this profile was verified.
- exit bonus amount
Frequently asked about California Cryobank
How much do sperm donors make at California Cryobank?
California Cryobank advertises up to $2,400 per month, at ~$200 per approved donation. It pays by check rather than same-day cash, and banks typically hold part of each payment until samples clear a 6-month FDA quarantine.
What are the requirements to donate sperm at California Cryobank?
California Cryobank looks for donors aged 19–38, with a 5'10"/5'5" height minimum, 4-yr college education, good health, and the ability to visit a collection site regularly. See the requirements section above for the full list.
Where can I donate sperm at California Cryobank?
California Cryobank has collection sites in Los Angeles, CA, Los Altos, CA, Portland, OR, Spokane, WA, Cambridge, MA, New York, NY, Greensboro, NC, Durham, NC. Donation is in person, usually 1–3 times a week, so proximity to a site is the real constraint.
Related guides
Ready to apply to California Cryobank?
Start on the official site, or compare it against the rest first.